RSS

“Last Night I Had The Strangest Dream”

08 Mar

Searching for spring…………., originally uploaded by *Gracie.

Words and music by Ed McCurdy

Video

Last night I had the strangest dream,
I never dreamed before.
I dreamed the world had all agreed
To put an end to war.
I dreamed I saw a mighty room,
The room was filled with men.
And the papers they were signing said
They’d never fight again.

And when the papers were all signed,
And a million copies made
They all joined hands and bowed their heads,
And grateful prayers were made.
And the people in the streets below,
They all danced round and round.
And guns and swords and uniforms
Were scattered on the ground.

Last night I had the strangest dream,
I never dreamed before.
I dreamed the world had all agreed
To put an end to war.
I dreamed I saw a mighty room,
The room was filled with men.
And the papers they were signing said
They’d never fight again.

When I awoke, twas but a dream,
and peace a dirty word
I tried to tell them of my dream,
but not a word they heard
And then I got me fighting mad,
and I knew just what I’d do
I’d fight nonviolently for peace,
until my dream came true.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to ““Last Night I Had The Strangest Dream”

  1. ggwfung

    March 9, 2007 at 12:15 am

    amen, yes one day, such a day will be. Not all our problems will be solved, but it will be a great advance in the long lens of time.

    Words to repeat and shout from the rooftops.

    ggw

     
  2. icedmocha

    March 10, 2007 at 12:08 pm

    Oh, I have that dream, too. Maybe if enough of us dream it, and work for it, it will happen someday.

    That flower is exotic and beautiful. A gorgeous image.

     
  3. Gracie

    March 11, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    ggwfung – absolutely!!! Scream as loud as you can………….

    iced mocha – wouldn’t that be fantastic? Most of us just want to live in peace and mind our own business – it’s the few in power that ruin it for the rest of us.

    Glad you like the flower – I like the colors of that particular crocus. Hope you are doing well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
