RSS

Owning Your Emotions

07 Feb

Purity……….., originally uploaded by alreadygrace.

Name It And Claim It

Our feelings can sometimes present a very challenging aspect of our lives. We experience intense emotions without understanding precisely why and consequently find it difficult to identify the solutions that will soothe our distressed minds and hearts. Yet it is only when we are capable of naming our feelings that we can tame them by finding an appropriate resolution. We retake control of our personal power by becoming courageous enough to articulate, out loud and concisely, the essence of our emotions. Our assuming ownership of the challenges before us in this way empowers us to shift from one emotional state to another-we can let go of pain and upset because we have defined it, examined the effect it had on our lives, and then exerted our authority over it by making it our own. By naming our feelings, we claim the right to divest ourselves of them at will.

As you prepare to acknowledge your feelings aloud, gently remind yourself that being specific is an important part of exercising control. Whatever the nature of your feelings, carefully define the reaction taking place within you. If you are afraid of a situation or intimidated by an individual, try not to mince words while giving voice to your anxiety. The precision with which you express yourself is indicative of your overall willingness to stare your feelings in the face without flinching. Naming and claiming cannot always work in the vacuum of the soul. There may be times in which you will find the release you desire only by admitting your feelings before others. When this is the case, your ability to outline your feelings explicitly can help you ask for the support, aid, or guidance you need without becoming mired in the feelings that led you to make such an admission in the first place.

When you have moved past the apprehension associated with expressing your distressing feelings out loud, you may be surprised to discover that you feel liberated and lightened. This is because the act of making a clear connection between your circumstances and your feelings unravels the mystery that previously kept you from being in complete control of your emotional state. To give voice to your feelings, you must necessarily let them go. In the process, you naturally relax and rediscover your emotional equilibrium.

Daily OM

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Owning Your Emotions

  1. Penseroso

    February 7, 2007 at 1:50 am

    Am I going to have to learn another language here? I have exhausted the Queen’s English. Now, in order to continue describing your artistic output, I’m going to have to resort to Redneck. That there’s one purty flower!

     
  2. Gracie

    February 7, 2007 at 2:32 am

    Queen’s English?

     
  3. Contented Tea

    February 7, 2007 at 6:22 am

    Will speak the language of st john’s today. unless i miss the boat with my children in 5 mins. do need to learn to attach pictures.
    Ctea

     
  4. Penseroso

    February 7, 2007 at 8:36 am

    It means proper English.

     
  5. Penseroso

    February 7, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    Hi Gracie: sorry to fill up your space with a test comment, but I’m trying to figure out why you weren’t able to link to me. This comment might help me figure it out.

     
  6. Penseroso

    February 7, 2007 at 4:38 pm

    It worked. You can delete this if you want.

     
  7. Suresh Gundappa

    February 8, 2007 at 3:59 am

    such beauty and such purity is so beautifully captured, I am overwhelmed, What can I say except I have fallen in Love :-)!

     
  8. Contented Tea

    February 8, 2007 at 7:55 am

    At sea today. Have tried to copy photo of the sky – it was in a silver matrix with the sea. thank you for your post on emotions. I learn so much- appreciatively. Tomorrow Castaway Cay.
    CTea

    The tea is not the best- everything else is great!

     
  9. naturalhigh

    February 8, 2007 at 11:04 am

    I found your image breath-taking! Thanks for posting it. I also see great power in expressing and acknowledging our emotions, Thanks for that reminder.

     
  10. frankwinters

    February 8, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    Very thoughtful and powerful post about emotions. And a lovely image as well.

    A friend used to say “Don’t tell me what you think, I want to know what you feel!”

    For me the mind and soul are one.

    Emotions should not be allowed to control our lives, in my view. But sometimes they do. This is where the centered, peaceful mind enters my thoughts.

    Some say that the purpose of life is to achieve peace of mind. I believe that in order to have a productive, happy existence we must first achieve peace of mind.

    First.
    Peace.
    Of Mind.

    Thanks for your post and image!

     
  11. icedmocha

    February 8, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    A new favorite among your photos. You amaze me. I like the post as well. A lot of truth there.

     
  12. Gracie

    February 9, 2007 at 12:05 am

    Enjoy your trip, Ctea

    Suresh, you always put a smile on my face. Thank you.

    Natural High, I appreciate your kind words, as always.

    frankwinters, I agree completely. Thanks for commenting & adding your words of wisdom to the post.

    icedmocha, Thanks, icedmocha. I really find photography to be a great outlet – so glad you enjoy them.

    Penseroso, I’ll just leave your comments in case you ever need a second home to practice.

     
  13. Contented Tea

    February 9, 2007 at 7:56 am

    Gracie,
    I am with you in thoughts about the above comments – except it is nice to have a second home but likely it is part of the first.
    reading Divine Matrix – emotions the blanket, keep them positive and the DNA is healthy – at peace with the heart and soul of all life.
    Love and lots of it (as Suresh commonly espouses),
    Ctea

     
  14. Grace

    February 9, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    Hi, Gracie 🙂

    Somewhere between packing (I’m moving this weekend) and working, I missed this post!!! (yours is one of the ‘blogs of the day” I just have to peek in on!!)

    There is something so cathartic about just being able to verbalize the energy of my emotions. I used to be quite the ‘stuffer’, but THAT doesn’t work, that’s for sure. Even with journalling all of my life, I really needed to take that first, scary step to talk about what I was feeling (I’m thinking particularly in regards to my relationships….it’s EASY to talk to my girlfriends!!!) There’s that vulnerability that comes with true transparency..but for me, anyway, it’s been worth pushing thru that fear…

    When I boyfriend and I first got together, this was one of the BIG challenge areas for him…for “US”. I wonder if talking about feelings is easier for women than men, anyway??? Or perhaps it’s a generational thing (we’re both boomers – so our own children were raised with the idea that expressing feelings in a positive manner – no matter what they were – was a GOOD thing). “D” has come so far….he was NOT one to express deep feelings at all (for fear of them taking away his ‘man card’ LOL) Seriously, though, my personal challenge has been to just let him talk without jumping in there. In fact, he’s gotten very good at saying, “I’m talking about my feelings here!” It’s not easy for him to find the correct words to identify exactly what he feels at times, but even just making the attempt goes a LONG way in our ability to connect over the occasional bump in the Road.

    THANKS for posting this and = as always = your photos take my breathe away.

     
  15. Gracie

    February 9, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Hi Grace,

    First of all, I’m honored that you stop by every day so please accept my apologies for being rather scarce recently and short on responses.

    Your words ring true even though discussing feelings can be terrifying especially for someone that wasn’t allowed to do so as a child. It’s unchartered territory for many like your husband and myself. There are times I’ll try to run as far as possible from what I’m feeling much like a terrified cornered animal. It just takes time if you’re not use to it.

    Thanks so much, Grace. Your post was quite special and made my day.

    Gracie

     
  16. gingermiss

    February 9, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Technically the Queen’s English refers to British English – particularly the high-falutin’ type spoken by the Queen. There’s more about it here for those who enjoy that sort of thing: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Received_Pronunciation

    There’s my bit of trivia for the day.

     
  17. Gracie

    February 9, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    gingermiss, Thanks for that tid bit of info. We need a section like that on the blog – would you like to volunteer????????

     
  18. gingermiss

    February 9, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    Hmm… Sounds intriguing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
