RSS

A Sigh of Relief!

10 Jan

dsc06179.JPG

I can finally breath a sigh of relief now that my daughter’s surgery is over and the healing process has successfully started. Whew! What a relief! It’s more difficult than I could have imagined knowing there was little choice but to put our trust in the hands of a few medical professionals that ultimately held her life in their hands for several hours which seemed like an eternity at the time. Anyway, it’s over and I’m thrilled with the speed of her recovery.

A few pictures from her flower arrangements.

dsc06194.JPG

Photography by Gracie – © All rights reserved

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “A Sigh of Relief!

  1. penseroso

    January 10, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    Yowza! Well, I’m glad the news is good. Great shots, as usual.

     
  2. Gracie

    January 11, 2007 at 12:43 am

    Thanks, Penseroso. I really appreciate your kind words.

    I can’t wait to see the new header!

     
  3. Suresh Gundappa

    January 11, 2007 at 11:51 am

    I did’t know about your daughter’s surgery! Take care and As you know I just finished my daughter’s… so we are almost sailing in same boat!

     
  4. Grace

    January 11, 2007 at 1:44 pm

    Hi, Gracie! I didn’t know about your daughter’s surgery either…it’s AWESOME news you are sharing today!! 🙂 and, as always, your photos ROCK!!

     
  5. Gracie

    January 11, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    Thanks, Suresh and Grace!

    We opted to wait until after it was over and fortunately it’s been another good day. 🙂

    I hope your daughter is talking again, Suresh. (nonstop) 🙂

     
  6. chill

    January 15, 2007 at 1:01 am

    I am glad to hear that your step-daughter got through this like a champion.

    Great lightning there on the picture above.

    Good to see you again, Grace.

     
  7. Gracie

    January 15, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    Where have you been, Chill? It’s good to have you back – I’ve missed your smiling face and sense of humor, girlfriend.

    I appreciate your sweet words so much. Thank you.

     
  8. chill

    January 15, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    Ohhhhhhh Gracie….

    I have been coding. I am working on a Drupal-powered site. Drupal is a little bit like WordPress, but is more for communities than bloggers… It’s open-source too (as is WordPress.org). I hope that with this work (unpaid, for my intellectual betterment and other self-serving reasons) I have gained that ‘nough experience to land a few programming contracts, eventually. I am unemployed now. But I am not starving. (Actually got FOOD, and only food, for Christmas, AND money sorry, from my family.)

    Again you have such a beautiful web site! By the way, have you checked out some books by Scott what’s his name Kelby ? Scott Kelby. I took a book from the library (french version of “Photoshop CSS book for digital photographers”) and have learnt quite a few Photoshop tricks that make a difference… like how to use “curves” (in color adjustments) to restablish what should be white, black and gray (and everything in between in a color picture) when the picture colors are somewhat off. Different techniques for sharpening portrait pictures, anf fixing facial imperfections, as well… (lol.. handy). Scott Delby’s books are usually easy to find in the library. I really like your ressources page by the way… And thank you for all the help with digital photography! all the tricks… I am reading it all, taking it in… And as usual, I am focusing way too much on theory, and way too little on experimentation.

    How old are you, anyway?

     
  9. Gracie

    January 16, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    That sounds wonderful, Chill – I wish you the best in your future plans whatever they happen to be, you have a real gift.

    I’m not familiar with Scott Kelby but will definitely check him out for some guidance. Obviously I am still learning the basics on Photoshop and would like to learn about layers and so much more, etc. etc. etc. It’s fun to fool around with all of those tools but it would be far more productive if I knew how the hell to use them properly. 🙂

     
  10. Caroline Schnapp

    January 16, 2007 at 3:44 pm

    That was classy how you avoided telling me about your age. (lol, kidding).
    I like Scott Kelby, although I would never recommend spending money on MORE books. What I like about Kelby is that his books are the rage, so they are easy to find in a local library, and he explains everything so well, and that book I have borrowed is so very practical. You have 2-3 pages devoted to how to do something very specific presented in a step by step fashion, with tons of screenshots and a usually not-so-corny photo example, and the technique is borrowed from “professional photographer x”, the technique being this photographer’s personal trick of the trade. It’s presented as a compilation of the very best tricks on how to crop, resize, remove digital noise, correct colors, extact from background, embellish a person, sharpen (without adding noise). I already took a Photoshop class in school and never learnt all this (very useful) stuff. I don’t think you need any of that, by the way. I think your pictures are just sensational as is. But if you play around in Photoshop, as you say you do…

    What a beautiful day! It finally snowed yesterday but it was snowing in all directions, and the snow was too fine to take a good pic… and I stayed home in my pj 🙂

    Later Gracie!

     
  11. chill

    January 16, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Oups, that was my pseudo name up there. This is “chill”, the real part of the aforementioned name was “Caroline”, but just call me “chill”.

     

Leave a Reply

 
