RSS

New Year’s Resolutions – Saddam’s Hanging!

01 Jan

Do you make those year after year to repeatedly find it’s kind of a silly tradition that makes for good dinner conversation weeks later? Anyway, this post was not in reference to that topic ( I got sidetracked as usual) but to acknowledge my surprise that the number 1 blogs are those with the uncut, raw footage of Saddam’s hanging. Are we still so barbaric in nature that we must collectively come together throughout the world to celebrate a man’s death? I ask myself again, “What year is this?”

Do not think I have any fond feelings for the dictator however it would have been an opportunity for us to actually charge him for killing thousands but we chose to keep the skeletons buried.

An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2007 in Current Events, People, Photography, Politics

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions – Saddam’s Hanging!

  1. penseroso

    January 1, 2007 at 5:38 am

    Saddam got due process. That was far more than he gave his victims.

    Having said that, we should say no more. He is best forgotten, but because he was a dictator who engaged the forces of a superpower, he never will be. Historians will keep him alive forever.

    At the risk of being added to the no-fly list, I must say I am loathe to indulge in any cheering. The man was executed. No matter who he was, it is distasteful to smile on such an occasion. We may not miss the man, we may not feel an ounce of pity for him, but let’s show some decorum. Let’s show that we are better than he was.

    Heck, I’ll just come right out and declare my opposition to the death penalty no matter who the condemned man or woman is.

     
  2. Gracie

    January 1, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    Thanks for such a well thought out response to my rant. Normally I don’t bring politics to this blog, I like to come here to get away from it actually but was surprised to see “it” was the most viewed on the blogs last night. I also had read several disturbing articles recently which still bother me about the trial but anyway, I’m done now.

     
  3. Joey

    January 1, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    I agree whole hearted with Penseroso, but I have to also admit my own morbid facination with seeing someone hung (regardless of who it was). I clicked on those links you spoke of . . . Now I did draw the line at logging onto websites like orgish.com to see even more details (they apparently have pictures of his neck and other hanging related wounds – Yummy)

    I think it is truthfully barbaric that instead of focusing on good tidings, family and comradery that should be the top topics this time of year we are keeping our attentions on someone who will no doubt be etched into history books now not so much as a mad dictator, but as a martyr for ‘his’ people. . .

    Either way, I hope we can put him behind us and put some attention on poor Iraq that is going to be in even more turmoil now. . . .

     
  4. Grace

    January 2, 2007 at 8:52 am

    Hi, Gracie:

    When I read your post, I just nodded. “Eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind”. Personally, I was so happy when I could see something OTHER than his face staring back at me from my Homepage on the dawning of a New Year. The only thought I’ve had about Saddam since is, “I wonder what he is now experiencing on the other side of the veil?”

     
  5. Gracie

    January 2, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Joey,

    Thanks for your feedback. I have never been able to watch anything that comes close to a hanging yet many people feel the need to do so for a number of reasons, I guess. I remember people watching the video with Nick Berg and some said it will haunt them forever. I hope this nightmare in Iraq ends soon before more people lose their lives.

    Grace,

    So good to have you back! 🙂 Saddam was number one New Year’s Eve everywhere so I don’t know what that says about us as a society. I’ve seen the perfect picture that’s appropriate for this topic.

     

Leave a Reply

 
