RSS

Holiday Madness

15 Dec

Why is it that this time of year always gets so stressful? I ask myself this every Christmas fully intending to avoid the last minute rush yet here I sit again facing a deadline with this project that has enveloped me for weeks. I jumped into this baby head first knowing it would be rather time consuming but certainly possible if I didn’t slack off until its completion. So as you can see, there’s been little time for blogging on my sites plus trying to leave more than a comment or two has been impossible. Accept my apologies fellow bloggers for I am in way over my head with deadlines mounting.

dsc04633.JPG
Photography by Gracie – © All rights reserved

This photograph was taken this afternoon in my backyard. I haven’t touched the colors but cropped it just a bit.

My smart idea was to put together a photo album for my daughter however it’s taking far more time than I could have ever imagined plus how can I do this for one without doing the same for my other three? Have I gone completely off the deep end? I’ve been sorting thru thousands of pictures trying to pick out the best – not an easy task with so many to choose from. Fortunately they aren’t aware of this site so I can express my growing panic given the deadline is fast approaching…… Ouch……. Do you know how long it takes to correct and upload so many photographs?????

photo1-dte.jpg

Now this looks like fun!
Needless to say, blogging hasn’t been an option. The last thing I should be doing now is writing but it’s nice to take a break and say hello to the few readers that stop by on occasion. I hope everyone is surviving this hectic time of year. Somehow these projects have always worked out in the end so my venting will hopefully just be purely therapeutic. I look forward to jumping back into cyberspace as soon as possible. Back to uploading for now.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2006 in Art, Christmas, Environment, Gracie, Nature, Organic, Photography, Women

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Holiday Madness

  1. dragonmommie

    December 15, 2006 at 8:25 am

    I know exactly what you mean, Gracie… I just got a little bit of the pressure off by finishing a poncho that was started in July! I never made one before, so I had to be dependent upon a few fittings with the recipient to finish it… but now it’s done. Still working on a couple of things for Christmas, but hoping to have a little more time to blog, myself.

     
  2. Suresh Gundappa

    December 15, 2006 at 11:38 am

    MM great photos! I like the expression on young ladys face!,

    just a little bit suggestion- Remember the one-third rule of photo composing. Move your subject (in this case little bird) to left little bit. It may look better.

    Do you know hoiday originated from Holy days where joy was the main focus!

     
  3. naturalhigh

    December 15, 2006 at 3:43 pm

    I am also giving photos as gifts this year. I got married, so we are giving framed photos of our beautiful outdoor ceremony. Plus I splurged on Photoshop and have been turning people’s hair blue and other cool arty effects. So I am mounting some of my own prints on washi paper and framing them as gifts.

    Grace, I linked to your John Lennon post. It really stirred me to see all the great history you colated.

     
  4. Gracie

    December 15, 2006 at 5:17 pm

    dragonmommie,

    Now that sounds like an awesome gift. So glad you finished it and hopefully you will take a picture so we can see the end result? Thanks for sharing as it only encourages me more. 🙂

    Suresh,

    Thanks for your kind words and advice on the bird photo. I’ll take your suggestion immediately. This is a real honor coming from a master such as yourself so please know how much I appreciate it. (blushing)

    This IS a time to be joyous and celebrate I just needed a moment to vent. Words of wisdom always welcomed here. BTW, I’m still working on that teddy bear! 🙂

    Natural High,

    There’s nothing you could give family and friends more unique than wedding pictures custom framed by an artist of your caliber. That is a fantastic idea. Please show us one of your creations even if you substitute a faux couple. I know your borders and frames alone will be stunning.

    I also bought Photoshop but m still learning how to use it. It takes up way too much of my time. 🙂

     
  5. Gracie

    December 15, 2006 at 5:23 pm

    Natural High,

    I forgot to say thanks for linking the John Lennon tribute. He went through rough times yet finally came to terms with his own demons at the end. His music will live on forever.

     
  6. Djubba

    December 17, 2006 at 5:12 am

    G’day Gracie… thx for your recent sojourn across to “DAO downunder”, and your kind words via Comments regarding “rudeness” post.
    I read here that you, along with the many millions of others, find/experience this time of year as frenetic-hectic or something similar… all I can say it takes much consent-rated effort to “move against the tide” 😉
    Just a couple of thoughts re posting images… do you “compress” your images for minimum size/maximum quality? I noticed that as with many bloggers/websites, they “slow-down” whilst loading due to oversized (kbs) pics.
    Also you mentioned having Photoshop… a cumbersome program, with a steep learning curve, and equivalent price tag. You may like to consider a very user-friendly and inexpensive program for the quick-stuff; I’ve favoured for the past couple of years, a shareware program, Photofiltre Studio (& “lighter” version Photofiltre) http://www.photofiltre-studio.com/frames-en.htm , and not too expensive; also utilises “photoshop effects/plugins” which is a wonderful.
    As for your uploading photos… sounds like the “scanning to digital would be the biggest effort… take them to a bureau that will scan photos through a special feeder and then store to CD-disc, the cost may be worth less than your time, once you have such, upload once only to a image host, then stream/embed into any page/site you need or send URL to friends/family for viewing online.
    Just thought I’d give you a few prompts, seeing as your comments were so gracious. Feel free to email for further info/assistance and tips re graphics/photos and digimagery matters… many years experience.
    Also included my “Book of DAO’ poetry URL, in case your inclined… so for now, thx, and enjoy the moments, one at a time… its easier that Way.

     
  7. Gracie

    December 17, 2006 at 8:34 pm

    Thanks for this wealth of information, Djubba. I am overwhelmed with gratitude and appreciate all the time you spent trying to make one part of my life easier during this stressful time of year. I’ve already downloaded the program and will start experimenting with it in a bit.

    I may take you up on your email offer if there are more problems. Thanks so very, very much for your response as this has been a project that’s turned into a task far larger than I had expected. I’ve had to come up for air more than once in the past few weeks. BTW, I don’t have the poetry book link referenced so if you could leave it I would greatly appreciate it.

     
  8. Gracie

    December 17, 2006 at 8:36 pm

    OOPS, ignore my last line. 🙂

     
  9. Djubba

    December 18, 2006 at 2:11 am

    Ok, no prob, and you’re more than welcome :->

    This is the link you said you didn’t have http://bookofdao.wordpress.com/ (copy/paste into address bar, as it is not hyper-linked) 😉 PS: have sent email re your other recent Comment.

     
  10. Djubba

    December 18, 2006 at 2:13 am

    PPS: strange, now it shows as hyperlink??

     

Leave a Reply

 
