RSS

After Thanksgiving!

26 Nov

dsc03791-10.jpg

Every year it seems as if we’ve reached new heights in the level of what we are capable of consuming as a nation whether it’s eating until we can’t move or shopping from 5 in the morning for those holiday bargains in any given town. I don’t like shopping malls so rarely do I find myself among those people willing to claw each other’s eyes out all in order to get the latest gadget or whatnot at a bargain price. I’m too old for that anyway.

dsc03751.jpg

This year since my daughter was doing an art show in the historic district of my hometown, I wandered about meeting quite a few new crafters that I’ll proudly support any time. It’s crucial to lend our encouragement to those artists that make unique pieces WalMart will never be able to replace. A few of these chains have been caught stealing ideas and ended up in court but that’s for another topic.

dsc03769_edited-1.jpg

Today has been necessary to chill out since I’ve done way too much these past few days. The photos are ones that I took of some Christmas tree ornaments along the way. Much more to post but it will have to wait.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2006 in Art, Christmas, Current Events, Gracie, Photography

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “After Thanksgiving!

  1. Suresh Gundappa

    November 27, 2006 at 9:26 am

    Now I know Why you are missing in action? Looks great – Only regret is wish I was there.!

     
  2. Gracie

    November 28, 2006 at 2:45 am

    Thanks, Suresh! It’s been a lot of fun this year. 🙂

     
  3. naturalhigh

    November 29, 2006 at 8:54 pm

    Cute! I really love ornaments. Smaltzy as it is, the whole magic of Christmas really does ir for me visually! I like to make most of my gifts though and avoid the consumer debt part.

     
  4. Gracie

    November 30, 2006 at 6:51 pm

    It’s nice to have you back, Natural High.

    I love the visuals of Christmas too but the malls always cause me to break out in a cold sweat. I use to have my kids make all their gifts which they thought was so uncool at the time.

     

Leave a Reply

 
