RSS

A Spiritual Journey on Election Day!

07 Nov

Natural High has written a beautiful piece regarding this very stressful day. Here is an excerpt with one incredible photograph. Thank you!

sand-heart.jpg

This Election Day morning, I am a bundle of conflicted emotions. I am encouraged by the Justice Department plans to dispatch more than 800 federal observers and monitors to 20 states to protect voting rights in potentially troubled polling locations. This is a record for a midterm election. I am elated by Lou Dobbs of CNN, and his fearless coverage of voting irregularities. I am pulled down by thoughts that Diebold didn’t make its machines hacker friendly without a plan to use them. I could be dark, disengaged, and depressed, or dauntless, daring and deliberate. Either way, my spiritual journey is not about avoiding or ignoring the tough stuff in life. It is about living my deepest convictions amidst struggle, injustice, and opposition. As I prepare for today, I am reminded of an Arabian proverb that says, “It is not the road ahead that wears you out – It is the grain of sand in your shoe.”

The grain of sand in my shoe is the small pieces of the places I’ve been that I did not leave in the past. Bitterness. Resentments. Grudges.

The rest can be read here.

Thanks again for this inspirational piece, Natural High!

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “A Spiritual Journey on Election Day!

  1. naturalhigh

    November 7, 2006 at 5:17 pm

    Thank you for sharing my post! It is heart warming to know that so many of us share this mixed up bag of emotions today. Peace.

     
  2. Gracie

    November 7, 2006 at 6:00 pm

    🙂

     
  3. Angry Sicilian

    November 8, 2006 at 5:33 pm

    Speaking of Diebold machines that are hacker friendly….

    I’m worried about Jennings race in Florida’s 13th. Looks like Major voting irregularities.

    The latest vote tallies for Congressional District 13 – the seat formerly held by Katherine Harris – have the race down to a razor-thin margin, with Christine down just 364 votes.

    The latest results show that while more than 140,000 Sarasota County voters went to the polls and voted in the race for U.S. Senate, less than 124,000 were recorded for the Congressional race – an unusually large under vote disparity.

    The Story

    If anyone else wants to donate, I dropped in $20

     
  4. Gracie

    November 8, 2006 at 6:44 pm

    Thanks for the update, AS. I’ve been keeping an eye on this – it doesn’t surprise me at all. We must continue to keep these voting machines front and center until changes are made.

     
  5. naturalhigh

    November 9, 2006 at 12:04 pm

    I wrote a new post about this today. Ironically, Reps are now unwilling to acquiesce to evoting results. And really, why should they??? Because even if there are no percievable irregularities, the frikking machines can’t be audited or recounted.

    We would not accept this from our ATM machines! We want reciepts and accountability there for sure.

     

Leave a Reply

 
