RSS

“Born in Love” – “Teach Peace”

29 Oct


Photography by Gracie – © All rights reserved

“Born in Love”

Marsha McCarthy

Drawings on Clay

“My work is hand built of low fire earthenware. All designs are original and hand incised when the piece is bone dry. The work is bisque fired after the drawings are complete. It is then underglazed and fired again. Finally it is dyed and waxed.

Ideas for my work come from legends and myths of the past, and my own thoughts and words on life and this wondrous Earth.

In addition to my one-of-a-kind work I offer limited editions that are produced in series of 500 after which the molds are destroyed to sassure the value of the piece. Smaller tiles are offered in open editions framed or inset on wooden boxes. I have been delighted by people’s responses to my work, which as provided me with the inspiration for many of the pieces offered in this line.”

Photography by Gracie – © All rights reserved

“Teach Peace”

I’ve been collecting Marsha McCarthy’s work for years & I promise these pictures do not do it any justice. These particular pieces are matted and framed which highlights the craftsmanship found in each one.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2006 in Art, Gracie, Inspirational, Meditation, Organic, Photography, Women

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to ““Born in Love” – “Teach Peace”

  1. naturalhigh

    October 30, 2006 at 8:45 am

    What an unusual use of clay! These images are powerful visually and conceptually. Thanks! Always a treat to see what you post.

     
  2. Gracie

    October 30, 2006 at 3:45 pm

    Isn’t it unusual? I think she uses oxides in the process if I remember correctly. The next time you’re in a gallery, ask to see if they carry her work. You’ll be amazed at how beautiful it is up close and personal.

    Thank you for your kind words.

     
  3. Lois Glickman

    July 23, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    Gracie,

    How do I go about ordering one of Marsha McCarthy’s inlaid bisque cherrywood boxes? Please respond to Nalpaklmk@aol.com

    Thanks. 🙂 Lois Glickman

     

Leave a Reply

 
