RSS

Portrait of a Sex Worker!

08 Oct

031.jpg

Third Place
Francesco Zizola MSF-Doctors Without Borders/Internazionale

“N., 19 years old. Sex worker.” “I work as a prostitute for four years now, because I need the money. My family knows what I do and says nothing. I am together with my ‘love’ (pimp) for seven years already, even before beginning this work. He lives here with me. He’s always been against this work, but since we have nothing, there is no other choice. My friends pushed me into this. I had a child, but he died from meningitis.”

Pictures of the Year International

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2006 in Art, Current Events, Health, News, People, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Portrait of a Sex Worker!

  1. markbeck

    October 9, 2006 at 12:51 am

    This story and the photo just breaks my heart. It’s so sad.

     
  2. Suresh Gundappa

    October 9, 2006 at 10:30 am

    Wow! great photo story. eyes that’s what i look for tell you the whole story. thanks for sharing Gracie!

     
  3. Gracie

    October 9, 2006 at 11:15 am

    It’s a heartbreaking story.

    The photograph has captured tragedy, the pain clearly expressed thru her eyes. Powerful and gut wrenching, so sad.

    Thanks for your comments.

     
  4. Andre Filipe

    October 9, 2006 at 8:21 pm

    Photography with history…

    Thank U for show us another amazing photo 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
