RSS

Daily Archives: October 8, 2006

Portrait of a Sex Worker!

031.jpg

Third Place
Francesco Zizola MSF-Doctors Without Borders/Internazionale

“N., 19 years old. Sex worker.” “I work as a prostitute for four years now, because I need the money. My family knows what I do and says nothing. I am together with my ‘love’ (pimp) for seven years already, even before beginning this work. He lives here with me. He’s always been against this work, but since we have nothing, there is no other choice. My friends pushed me into this. I had a child, but he died from meningitis.”

Pictures of the Year International

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2006 in Art, Current Events, Health, News, People, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Feature Picture – “Tornabe, Honduras”!

03.jpg

Third Place

Holly Wilmeth Sipa Press / International Health Emissaries

“Tornabe, Honduras” One of the highest concentrations of HIV positive communities in the Western Hemisphere lies off the coast of Honduras with the Garifuna people in Honduras.

Pictures of the Year International

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2006 in Art, Current Events, Health, People, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Award of Excellence!

041.jpg

Stephanie Sinclair Corbis / VSD

Older Beirut residents walk past a lingerie store in the ABC mall in predominantly Christian neighborhood of Ashrefieh.

Pictures of the Year International

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2006 in Art, Current Events, News, People, Photography

 

Tags: , , , ,